Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Environment Committee MEETING Sun Hunt, etc.; Animal Rights msg


Environment Committee MEETING AGENDA   Wednesday, March 21, 2012   1:30 PM in Room 2D of the LOB

III. BILLS FOR FINAL ACTION

1. S.B. No. 83 (RAISED) AN ACT AUTHORIZING BOW AND ARROW HUNTING ON SUNDAY UNDER CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES. JFS

2. S.B. No. 92 (RAISED) AN ACT CONCERNING THE DISPOSAL AND COLLECTION OF UNUSED MEDICATION. JFS

3. S.B. No. 267 (RAISED) AN ACT CONCERNING CLEAN AND ALTERNATIVE FUEL VEHICLES. JF Finance, Revenue and Bonding

4. S.B. No. 347 (RAISED) AN ACT CONCERNING THE STATE'S OPEN SPACE PLAN. JF

5. S.B. No. 348 (RAISED) AN ACT CONCERNING WATER CONSERVATION. JF

6. S.B. No. 351 (RAISED) AN ACT CONCERNING CERTAIN CEMETERY EROSION MITIGATION EFFORTS WITHIN THE COASTAL BOUNDARY. JF

7. S.B. No. 376 (RAISED) AN ACT CONCERNING THE COASTAL MANAGEMENT ACT AND SHORELINE FLOOD AND EROSION CONTROL STRUCTURES. JF

8. H.B. No. 5116 (RAISED) AN ACT REQUIRING THE LABELING OF FOOD PACKAGING THAT CONTAINS BISPHENOL-A. JFS

9. H.B. No. 5117 (RAISED) AN ACT CONCERNING GENETICALLY-ENGINEERED FOODS. JF

10. H.B. No. 5121 (RAISED) AN ACT CONCERNING THE USE OF ORGANIC PESTICIDES ON SCHOOL PROPERTY AND AUTHORIZING MUNICIPAL REGULATION OF THE USE OF PESTICIDES ON RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY. JF

11. H.B. No. 5258 (RAISED) AN ACT PERMITTING THE POSSESSION OF REINDEER YEAR ROUND. JF

12. H.B. No. 5261 (RAISED) AN ACT CONCERNING THE HUNTING OF DEER WITH A PISTOL. JFS

13. H.B. No. 5304 (RAISED) AN ACT CONCERNING CHARITABLE CONTRIBUTIONS PAID IN LIEU OF FINES FOR HUNTING AND FISHING VIOLATIONS. JFS

14. H.B. No. 5412 (RAISED) AN ACT CONCERNING THE OPERATION OF CERTAIN VESSELS REGISTERED WITH MARINE DEALER REGISTRATION NUMBERS. JF

15. H.B. No. 5413 (RAISED) AN ACT CONCERNING INVASIVE PLANTS. JF Appropriations

16. H.B. No. 5446 (RAISED) AN ACT CONCERNING THE PAYMENT PROCEDURE FOR THE STERILIZATION AND VACCINATION OF CERTAIN DOGS AND CATS AND PROVIDING FOR ANIMAL CONTROL OFFICER TRAINING. JF

Important that members in the District  Branford, Durham, Guilford, Killingworth, Madison & North Branford call/e-mail Senator Meyer as soon as possible to support bow hunting on Sundays. Call, e-mail other members of the committee (below) paticularly if you Rep./Sen. is on the committee. How to Find Your Legislators: http://www.cga.ct.gov/maps/townlist.asp

Animal Rights Forwarded message.

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: Julie Lewin <jlewin@igc.org>
Date: Sat, Mar 17, 2012 at 5:54 PM
Subject: Call Sen Meyer NOW to stop Sunday bowhunting
To: Julie Lewin <
jlewin@igc.org>

CALL SENATOR MEYER MONDAY TO

STOP SUNDAY BOWHUNTING

1-800-842-1420

Give your street address to show you're a constituent

Dear ERP Friends,   

Our State Senator Ed Meyer is poised to support Senate Bill 83, which opens the door to Sunday hunting.  He has huge influence on the fate of this bill, because he's Senate Chair of the legislative committee that's considering it. THE VOTE WILL BE NEXT WEEK OR MONDAY MARCH 26. He will stop the bill if he hears from enough of you and other constituents.

DEEP's hunting division and the hunters' lobby have tried for decades to legalize Sunday hunting. This bill would cross a fatal threshold, so further expansions are assured. I lobbied against Sunday hunting for years in the statehouse and helped defeat it multiple times. I know well Sunday hunting proponents' strategy.

The excuse, of course, is deer overpopulation, BUT:

  1. Bowhunting is extremely unproductive, so clearly the intent is actually sport, not to reduce deer density in any statistically meaningful way.
  2. It's the cruelest form of hunting by far. Its "crippling rate"—wounding without recovering the animal—is often estimated at 50% by hunters themselves. This condemns wounded deer to horrid slow deaths.  
  3. Hunters already have 6 days a week! Their and DEEP's fervent goal is to legalize full Sunday hunting with all weapons in all state forests and private lands where the owner allows it.

"SB 53 Authorizing Bowhunting under Certain Circumstances" would allow bowhunting on privately owned land in zones DEEP determines have high deer densities. DEEP's past the bills would have authorized all Sunday hunting, so they've adopted this strategy to get there.

For more info call me at 203-453-6590.  Thanking you, Julie Lewin

********

Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov; Maynard@senatedems.ct.gov; Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov; Richard.Roy@cga.ct.gov; Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov; Clark.Chapin@housegop.ct.gov; Terry.Backer@cga.ct.gov; Paul.Davis@cga.ct.gov; Dan.Fox@cga.ct.govJack.Hennessy@cga.ct.gov; Geoff.Luxenberg@cga.ct.gov; Robert.Megna@cga.ct.gov; Philip.Miller@cga.ct.gov; Edward.Moukawsher@cga.ct.govMary.Mushinsky@cga.ct.gov; Kim.Rose@cga.ct.gov; Diana.Urban@cga.ct.gov; Roberta.Willis@cga.ct.gov; Christopher.Wright@cga.ct.gov; Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov; Kevin.Ryan@cga.ct.gov; Fred.Camillo@housegop.ct.gov; len.greene@housegop.ct.gov; Tony.Hwang@housegop.ct.gov; Lawrence.G.Miller@housegop.ct.gov; Craig.Miner@housegop.ct.gov; John.Piscopo@housegop.ct.gov; John.Rigby@housegop.ct.gov; john.shaban@housegop.ct.gov;




--


Post a Comment